Events

Loading Events

« All Events

Carroll en Francais

March 23, 2024 , 2:00 pm 3:00 pm EDT

11:00AM Pacific / 2:00PM Eastern/ 7:00PM UK

Join this webinar on March 23.

alice and the mouse in the pool of tears speak French

Join Justine Houyaux and Douglas Kibbee for a discussion of French translations of Lewis Carroll’s works. More info to come!

More curiouser and more curiouser! with Douglas Kibbee

“Lewis Carroll is untranslatable, and everywhere he has been translated” quipped Peter Rickard, a British scholar, back in 1975. At that point he identified sixteen translations of Alice in Wonderland into French. Now there are at least fifty-one. If translation of ordinary English is difficult, translating unconventional English is much more difficulter(!). We’ll examine the different rabbit holes followed by French translators in rendering one sentence: “Curiouser and curiouser!” cried Alice (she was so much surprised that for the moment she quite forgot how to speak good English). Your contributions are welcome! No knowledge of French necessary.

Douglas Kibbee is professor emeritus of French Linguistics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Over the years he has created a corpus of the fifty-one translations, organized sentence by sentence. He has also written several articles analyzing different aspects of these translations and translated himself folk tales from the Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast).

Zoom

Share