Events

Loading Events

« All Events

An Afternoon at the Theater: Alice, Formerly of Wonderland

July 28, 2024 , 3:00 pm 4:00 pm EDT

Join this Zoom Webinar on July 28.

Noon Pacific / 3PM Eastern / 8PM UK

Learn all about the brand-new musical Alice, Formerly of Wonderland, which recently had its world premiere at the New Vic theater in Santa Barbara! Playwright Mark Saltzman and Director Jim Fall will elaborate on the inspiration and execution of this production inspired by the real-life relationship between Prince Leopold and Alice Liddell, daughter of the Christ Church Dean and Lewis Carroll’s muse for Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Hosted by Daniel Rover Singer.

Mark Saltzman began his career in New York with Jim Henson, writing for the Muppets, where he won seven Emmy Awards for Sesame Street! His long and successful writing career consists of countless credits for the stage, movies and TV, including the long-running revue A, My Name is Alice at the Village Gate, the Dudley Moore-narrated film The Adventures of Milo and Otis, the Gregory Hines-directed TV movie The Red Sneakers and many, many more. Mark is a graduate of Cornell’s English and theater departments. He runs The Arnold Glassman Fund, which offers grants to worthy documentaries. 

Jim Fall has had a distinguished and diversified directing career spanning over 35 years, including theatre, film and TV. Top movie credits include indie fave Trick and Disney’s The Lizzie Mcguire Movie. He is currently developing The Lord Won’t Mind, a TV series based on Gordon Merrick’s 1971 New York Times bestseller Hate: A Love Story, a feature film based on the true story of Al Snyder who took the Westboro Baptist Church to the Supreme Court after they protested his military son’s funeral, and Out In The Vineyard, an original movie musical set in Sonoma, CA, shooting in early 2025.

Daniel Rover Singer is a former Walt Disney Imagineer and a current freelance writer, designer and event producer. He studied drama at the Guildford School of Action near London, after which he co-founded the Reduced Shakespeare Company, whose three-man farce The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged) has been performed around the world since its debut in 1987, including nine years in London’s West End. A Perfect Likeness, his play about a fictitious meeting between Lewis Carroll and Charles Dickens, has been produced in North America and the U.K. since 2013. Singer performs with the shanty-band QuarterMaster.

Share